A Summer’s Day

IMG_5133
reading the newest by my favorite author, Mary Roach
IMG_5114
fresh basil
IMG_5139
psst… you’re not quite camouflaged!
IMG_5153
the cantaloupes are starting to look like real melons!
IMG_5118
Chewie makes a handsome garden helper!
IMG_5151
I eat so many little tomatoes right there in the garden 🙂
IMG_5120
Ruby takes a good sniff of the day’s produce

It’s no surprise that here in Alabama it’s stiflingly hot (again) today. I’ve finished up all but one of my orders before my upcoming solo mini-vacation to Florida, and I’m simply too hot to create anything new. Instead the dogs accompany me to the garden as I water the melons and pick some cherry tomatoes and herbs for tonight’s dinner. Afterwards we three languish, stretched out in the living room, basking in the holy breeze of the ceiling fan. It’s a lazy Monday, and it feels like an extravagance!

Tonight I’m cooking a summery dinner for three and we’ll tune in to The Bachelorette. I love watching with my friend and /or Ben and sharing our opinions – it’s one of the few shows I watch that doesn’t include a murder (thus far).

This week I’m looking forward to Florida! I’m packing a swimsuit, jewelry and my camera. I’ll get to help out with a licensed sea turtle patrol, and I hear that they’re having new nest hatchings everyday. My mini vacation can’t come quickly enough!

 

 

Join the Conversation!

